We are on a hike to nowhere

Hello!

IMGP6821

One thing that was on our must do list while in NZ was a horse ride in the Lord of the Rings Land, the very place Boromir lost his life, I name: Glenorchy.

You should see that place, completly lost, mountains and horses, forest and lakes, you won’t even dare to speak cause you feel so small compared to what is around you. It turns out that many movies have been filmed there, from Wolverine to the Lord of the Rings, Narnia or Prince of Persia. The first time I went to Glenorchy, it was freezing cold, the mountains were still covered in snow and the horses really just wanted hibernation… It was just the two of us and the guide, a lovely guy very fond of every thing lord of the rings. He introduced us to all the ‘famous’ horses, showed us all the sights and picked me up from the mud when my horse decided to throw me off its back… No offense taken, I just carried my messed up shoulder till the very end of the trip!

I took my Mom again when we were in Queenstown. We only had a few hours but I insisted she had to see it, that it was way worth the drive. It was a very different sight that Glenorchy offered us that day, the sky was so low it nearly touched the land. It was the begining of Spring then, the whole place was packed with Lupin flowers. That’s when my love for lupins began!

I believe very few words can describe Glenorchy, so I won’t attempt to say any more about it. Just leave you with a few photos!

Have a great week end!

  • In winter:

IMGP3790

IMGP3794

IMGP3799

IMGP3802

IMGP3805

IMGP3809

IMGP3814

IMGP3820

IMGP3823

  • Spring:

IMGP6809

IMGP6815

IMGP6819

IMGP6839

IMGP6823

IMGP6843

IMGP6858

 

Leave a Reply

