Recipe of the week

Hello!

BeFunky_20130823_103128.jpg

I have spent every minute of free time this week in the kitchen, but it was well worth it. If I could one day make it my day job, I don’t think I could get any happier!

But for now, baking is just a hobby which makes me and my family happy (and fat). I want to share today a very easy recipe, another one from my Exquis Petits Gâteaux postcard cookbook. They are called ‘diamants au cacao’, it means cocoa diamonds, they basically are dried cocoa flavored biscuits.

The best part? It will take you about 8 minutes to wipe it up, and you won’t even need any kitchen appliances! I just used my little fingers and voila! However, they do require that you leave them to rest before you bake them, but that’s the only down side. We had some family over for dinner and Mom had asked me to prepare something to go with ice cream so that was the perfect biscuit!

Recipe:

  • 125G sugar
  • 125G butter
  • 250G plain flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • 1 tablespoon cocoa powder (it tends to have some lumps, so try and strain it before)
  • 1 pinch of vanilla powder
  • 1 pinch of cinnamon

Preheat your oven at 180°C.

Mix together the sugar, the flour, the salt, the cocoa powder, the vanilla and cinnamon and finally the egg. Then, add the butter, softened and mix it all in with your fingers till you get a big ball. Roll the dough in the shape of a sausage (sorry, not sure how to translate that, but you see what I mean right?) and put it in the fridge for one hour.

Cut it into slices, and roll each slice into powdered sugar and cook for about 15 minutes.

It’s very hard to tell when they are ready given the dark color they already have, but beware not to overbake them as they will get very hard.

Enjoy!

M.

 

Leave a Reply

