Recipe of the week

Hello Sunday!

Another week finished… Why does it feel like I spend my time saying that? Time flies when you do nothing I guess…

20130813_190905

Today’s recipe is a French delicacy that I have been meaning to make for a long time, but I was always afraid it would be too difficult… I name: Madeleines.

So Wikipedia says Madeleines comes from two regions of Northeast France, but for me, they are just the tipical afternoon snack that my Mom would give us, while we would spend the afternoon at the beach. Their specialty is first, that they are delicious, and second, the little bump. Which is what scared me the most… Because in what world would anyone eat a madeleine if there is no bump?? So, I read a lot of recipes on the internet, some said you had to freeze the dough before cooking it to have the bump, some others said you had to change the oven temperature during the cooking.

And finally, when I saw the recipe in my new ‘Exquis petits gâteaux’ postcard/recipe booklet, I had to give it a try. No freezing or anything of the sort, you pop them in the oven for 10 mins and BAM, a little bump!

These ones are honey flavoured, you can flavor them with anything you’d like, chocolate chips, orange blossoms, anything you fancy really!

Here is the recipe that I followed:

  • 2 eggs
  • 140g butter
  • 100g sugar
  • 2 tablespoons of honey (this will really flavor your madeleines, so be sure to take some good quality honey)
  • 100g all purpose flour
  • a pinch of salt

Preheat your oven at 200°C. Whisk the egg whites in stiff peaks and keep the yoks on the side.

In another bowl, beat together the butter, sugar and the honey. Then add the flour, egg yoks and salt. Mix it carefully to the eggs, making sure not to deflate your whites. The batter is very heavy compared to the whites, which is quite surprising at first, therefore I added it a little bit at a time to the whites to make sure to keep all the air in.

Pour the batter in the pans and cook them for 10 mins. The madeleines must be golden and swollen. Wait for them to cool down before you remove them from the pans.

Enjoy!

M.

Leave a Reply

