Recipe of the week

Hello!

BeFunky_null_1.jpg

How was the week end? Finally, the sun has made a come back, so as my dear C. Of course I prepared her a chocolate cake, for she won’t eat anything else, but as it was a bit of a failure I’d rather not get into it… However, earlier in the week, I prepared some treats for my parents… I need to say here that they loooooove rhum, which is why it tends to appear every so often in the recipes of the week (see here).

I came accross this Rhum and Raisins mini cakes on the latest cook book I bought. And yet another cook book I hear you tell me, but this one, is pretty special… It is not really a cook book, it is more like postcards linked together, with the recipe at the back. The pictures are simply beautiful and they are easy recipe of everything tipical French.

This cake – I made it as mini cakes – is very easy to make, and very light! No butter, no oil and just a bit of sugar. It is quite heavy on rhum, I noticed it as soon as I poured the amount on the recipe, but knowing my parents, I did not hesitate a minute. Just be aware that it is a lot, meaning you can absolutly taste the alcohol I should say you can even smell it!

  • Rhum raisins cakes:

100g Smyrne raisins (did you even know about the amount of different raisins you could find in the grocery store??)

10cl rhum

1 yogurt

10cl sour cream

125g sugar (the recipe calls for 150g, but from experience, I always downgrade it a bit, and 125g were largely enough)

3 eggs

180g plain flour

50g almond powder

1 teaspoon of baking powder

First, preheat your oven at 180°C. For your pan, butter it, and add some sugar to the bottom, it will taste lovely when you take them out! Put them in the fridge (does anyone know if it is a crucial step, does it have any consequences or could I skip this step?).

Then, put the raisins and rhum together in a pan and take to a boil. Turn it off and set aside to cool down. In a different bowl, whisk together the yogurt and cream, then add the sugar, the eggs and the rhum that you have drained from the raisins.

Finally, add the flour, almond powder and baking powder. Cover the raisins with flour then incorporate to the batter.

If you are making one big cake, cook it for 40 minutes, for the small cakes it only took me 20 minutes.

I filled the pans all the way to the top because I got too lazy to get more pans out, in ended up overflowing so try not to fill the pans too much because it rises quite a lot.

Enjoy!

BeFunky_null_2.jpg

BeFunky_null_3.jpg

BeFunky_null_4.jpg

BeFunky_null_5.jpg

Cheers!

M.

 

Leave a Reply

