Recipe of the Week

Sweet Sunday again!

When I was probably around 12, my big brother went with Dad to the Foire de Paris, a huge fair that lasts for a month with everything from food to campervans or new technologies. Dad would have a little counter every year, and we’d get big ‘apologies for not being here’ packages in the mail full of toys and funny little things. So of course when my brother had the chance to go for the first time and I wasn’t allowed, I nearly died of jealousy.

_IGP9635He brought me back a cook book called ‘Jackie cook book’. My first cook book ever.  I loved the funny little cartoons on every pages. I first tried the chocolate brownies, and it became my little brother’s all time favorite cake. I have never ever used any other brownie recipe than that one, and I believe I never tried any other recipe from Jackie’s cookbook. I don’t think I would have gotten the taste of baking if it wasn’t for that book. Big cheers to my big brother for once again believing in me 🙂

As soon as I came home after two years of travelling the world, I baked my little brother some of these brownies, but this time I decided to make them into tiny little cakes, so we could nibble on it. 45 mini brownies disappeared within 24 hours! I cut down the sugar a wee bit this time, and put one less egg because I didn’t have enough, and I believe I prefer it that way.

Recipe:

200g dark chocolate

150g sugar

125g butter

3 eggs

50g flour

nuts

  • Pre heat the oven at 180°C
  • Melt the butter on a pan on top of simmering water, with the chocolate. Once it’s melted, take it off from the water.
  • Once cooled down, add the sugar, gradually.
  • Add the eggs, one by one, beating well until each egg is incorporated.
  • Add the flour and the nuts
  • Cook for about 30 minutes (I baked them for 10-12 minutes as mini ones)

Cheers!

M.

_IGP9636

_IGP9637

_IGP9638

Leave a Reply

